Small Woodland Owners' Group

Non Natives

Topics that don't easily fit anywhere else!

Non Natives

Postby oldclaypaws » Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:11 pm

The question of non native species is an intriguing and complex one which merits discussion.

Are they a threat, or do others represent great opportunities? Should we aim for 'all native' trees, or be more open minded, trying other foreign species which may be resistant to climate change and disease and have superior qualities to some of the familiar ones we use.

If I was a fuel producer with no consideration for wildlife, wanting a quick growing tree which had no health issues, produced great coppiced fuel that burns superbly and splits well, and replaces my existing threatened Ash, I'd have no hesistation in going for Eucalyptus. Our one tree in our garden grows like stink, I planted it about ten years ago 4ft high and it grew to about 40 ft and 15 inches across in 8 years. Chopped it down, 2 years later its back to 12 feet ! Burns superbly with a blue flame, almost like gas. I reckon if you had 1/2 acre of them, you could heat an average sized home.

Like butterfies? Why not plant a few buddleia? Lots of colour, seems to thrive in the UK.

Even the hated Rhodos, if controlled, might be an interesting choice for fuel, they seem to like our climate and put on a fine show of colour in the spring.

We also have an Alianthus in the garden, looks like an Ash. Grows rapidly, seeds well, apparently great firewood, nice graceful tree. Allegedly invasive, but can't say I've seen it spreading in the wild.