Small Woodland Owners' Group

Bluebells and other pictures

Say Hello and tell others about yourself and your wood.

Postby Domtyler » Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:25 am

Hi all,

I'm a photographer and I'm working on a book about small woods, the people who own them and what they do in them. My idea is to devote each chapter to a particular wood, chosen to highlight a season, species, concept, craft, person, artwork or place and combined to show the rich variety of our woodlands. One of the things I'm most keen to photograph at the moment is a wood with an amazing bluebell carpet. Are any of you particularly proud of your bluebells? Would you be willing for me to visit your woods with you to see them?

Bluebells aside, I'd love to hear from any of you with woods you think I should visit. I'm looking for all kinds of woodland, whether worked for coppice or used for biodiversity surveys or just as a retreat for contemplation. I'll be careful not to give the locations of any woods featured in the book, so you won't have to worry about uninvited visitors. This is not a guide-book, more a celebration of woods.

Please get in touch if you'd like to know more. I'm hoping to meet some of you in person at upcoming SWOG events too.

Thanks and best wishes,

Dominick Tyler

[email protected]

www.dominicktyler.com

Domtyler

Postby tracy » Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:25 am

Great to hear from you Dominick, where abouts in the country are you looking? We have some wonderful bluebells here in Sussex!

tracy

Postby RichardKing » Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:37 am

I think mine look awesome, but then I'm probably biased !

RichardKing

Postby Domtyler » Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:50 am

@tracy

I'm looking everywhere but I am based in London so Cornwall and the Hebrides are tricky. Sussex would be perfect. How much longer do you think your blooms will be at their best?

@RichardKing

Care to share your awesome bluebells with the world?

Domtyler

Postby RichardKing » Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:37 pm