Small Woodland Owners' Group

Children, Schools and Woods

Camp fires, shelters, wild food, making things, children and more....

Postby Ryan » Fri May 15, 2009 9:06 pm

Hi forum - first post from a person very close to taking the plunge and buying a wood. Any advise will be seen as favourable and welcoming.

I have small children of my own, plus I am a primary school teacher. My intention is to use the woods for enjoyment with my family, but to also offer school trips to the woods to get primary aged children more hands on with wildlife, conservation and nature.

Having spent quite a few years in education I feel that the children would relish the idea of getting involved in a woodland project, or to just visit a wood that can be enjoyed in a safe environment.

I know for fact my children would thoroughly enjoy it but I am thinking a little wider and opening it out to a bigger audience.

My initial concerns are one of liability insurance, toilet facilities and no water! But I am sure with a little more thought these could be only small hurdles (hopefully!).

I have a vision in my head on how this would take shape but I am not sure if I am being realistic.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated.

Ryan

Postby tracy » Sat May 16, 2009 6:08 am

Hi Ryan

That all sounds great - and you are so great, school kids love it. I am a primary school teacher too - I do supply now and I get to bring kids to the woods.

I am paid for a days supply -not for the use of the wood, and the school brings its own insurance, risk assessments, first aider and sufficient adults. I simply lead the day. Works very well and the kids have a ball! My one concern was that now all the kids would know where my woodland is and might decide to come on weekends with friends and older family, but there is no sign of that happening.