Small Woodland Owners' Group

Health and Safety

Camp fires, shelters, wild food, making things, children and more....

Postby Chris » Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:32 am

Following on from the Axemen topic; I did not see the programmes, but from what I have heard, these people were mad, and a lot of the fatalities could have been saved with basic health and safety.

I don't belive in going stupid about health and safety, however, not having it allowe employers to expect their workers to work dangerously to get the job done quickly, as in the Axemen programmes.

It makes sense to keep yourself safe. Use common sense and wear protective clothing when doing a job that needs it such as chainsawing.

I used to work in the electronics industry, and we were starting to develop more safety conciousness by then, but there were the tales of the old boys who would have a sandwich in one hand and a cyanide 'egg' to add to a plating bath in the other.

Keep safe; its your life.

Chris

Chris

Postby athelstan » Fri Oct 17, 2008 3:25 pm

I was told about a Safety Data Sheet that was required to be on display in a laboratory for that incredibly dangerous substance WATER. It gave instructions on what to do if water got in your eyes - flush your eyes with water, if water got on your skin - place exposed skin under running water, if water is ingested, do not induce vomiting,but dilute with water.

These parasitic jobsworths will never supersede plain common sense. Call me a rebel but I utterly refuse to wear a hard-hat and safety goggles when playing conkers!

athelstan

Postby tracy » Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:19 pm

Mike and I have just been on a coppice harvesting course, which we will soon write more about (or see it at peplers.blogspot.com) and we did a lot on healthy and safety - learning about proper cuts, benches to save your back, holding the saw correctly and today we looked at ropes and pulleys. Fantastic course and I am sure we will work much more effectively and safely as a result.