Small Woodland Owners' Group

Billhook advice requested

A place to discuss or review of tools and equipment, how to look after them, handy hints for using them.

Postby Zenith » Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:07 am

As a new small woodland owner and a complete novice where tools are concerned, I'd like a bit of advice about billhooks, please. I looked at the sort of initial tools that would be useful in my wood and decided to purchase my first billhook as a start. I got a Spear and Jackson Southern Counties Billhook.

My question relates to the sharpness of the blade. It seems very blunt (see picture above), yet when I contacted the suppliers they told me 'this is the normal sharpness of the blade and should only need resharpening if necessary after use.' It doesn't look as if it could cut through anything and would just be battering branches into submission.

So, is it normal for them to be like this and just what should I be using such a billhook for. I'm sorry if this is such a basic question, but I'm on a steep learning curve.

Many thanks for any advice given.
Zenith

Postby Bearwood » Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:08 am

Billhooks are traditionally used in the laying of hedges or for coppicing, although most folks who own them nowadays use them for chopping kindling or hacking brush.

They are curious to work with and maintain as the steel within the older ones are generally medium carbon filleted between two pieces of wrought iron or mild. The reasoning for this is to facilitate field sharpening with a cigar stone or the like, which would be made more difficult with high carbon steel, although the edge would hold longer. Modern 'hooks such as yours are almost certainly high carbon only and would respond well to a succession of gradually finer stones to reach the best edge, and under no circumstances would I ever use an edged tool with a factory provided edge.