Small Woodland Owners' Group

Help - Chainsaws for dummys

Anything to do with SWOG Membership, meetings and find people with skills to offer

Postby old smithy » Fri Apr 30, 2010 2:44 pm

Hi there all, I am new to all this (but eager) and I need to learn all about chainsaws and how to use them for managing my land and the huge piles of already felled trees - done by the last owner and just left.

I want to start turning it from piles o branches into useful firewood. Can anyone recommend a good place to start when working with chainsaws etc. I am keen to get started but also don't want to go off half-cocked with such a potentially lethal tool. We are based in Shropshire.

All advise welcome guys.

Ian

old smithy

Postby carlight » Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:46 pm

hi ,well ,eager is good ,especially with the hot weather/ safety trousers-leg boiler.!

You really need to find someone who is prepared to work with you ,and guide you . There's really no other way .If the 'pile of trees' are already 'snedded out'(limbs removed),and just need cross-cutting ,then maybe you could employ a local cutter (cash/weekends-good)for a day's work/teaching .

Pretty important to understand kickback potential (re safety), and tension/compression (re frustration).

Of course ,these things may be mentioned during the basic saw 'safety' stuff ,by a bored instructor ,but is no substitute for reality .

Hope you get sorted .

(would cost a bit to get me up from devon , but if you get really stuck ,and promise to only have husqvarna kit on site ...........)

carlight

Postby Twybill » Fri Apr 30, 2010 7:45 pm