Small Woodland Owners' Group

Chainsaw courses

Recommended reading, web sites, resources

Postby pete » Sun Jan 01, 2012 8:30 pm

Hi everyone, I'm probably being dumb, but is there any existing info on the best courses on chainsaw use anywhere on the web-site or the Forum? And if not, then can anyone make some recommendations because this is obviously basic resource stuff for new woodland owners.

I'm actually looking for a course that doesn't interfere with a Mon-Fri job, or minimally. Perhaps a full weekend or even a day a weekend over several weekends.

I feel a bit sheepish going on a course now, because I've used a small bladed Huskvarna saw for some years, self-taught after lots of reading, plus study of internet and YouTube videos. But I want to buy a Stihl MS 650 20" for bigger work and it seems the manufacturers have a policy of not allowing internet sales (where one can save a lot of money) unless you can prove you're a 'professional'. So it looks like I have to go on a course after all! Recommendations for the Herts/Beds/Northants area very welcome please.

pete

Postby tracy » Mon Jan 02, 2012 2:52 pm

Hi Pete

No, we haven't collected a list of recommended chainsaw courses yet - so we can start one here. Anyone able to help?

tracy

Postby coppiceer » Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:41 pm

Try the Education & Training forum on ARBTALK:

http://arbtalk.co.uk/forum/training-education/

coppiceer

Postby Fuzzy-Felt Bloke » Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:53 pm

The real reason for a chainsaw training course is to show you safe methods of felling and de-limbing trees, not how much you can save. A full NPTC Cert a course will cost around £400 - £500, will you save this much on a chainsaw. Unless you are buying a top handle saw, I would just go local and buy one from a store, unless you feel that you need training in how to fell a tree safely, and do the course for the right reason.

Tom

Wildlife & Environmental Training Company

www.wildlifeenvironmentaltraining.co.uk