Small Woodland Owners' Group

Hello from Dorchester, Dorset

Say Hello and tell others about yourself and your wood.

Hello from Dorchester, Dorset

Postby Dorset Treeman » Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:20 pm

Hello,

My name is Alan Goldstone. I am a tree surgeon by trade but have spent the last 2 years carrying National Forest Inventory (NFI) surveys as a contractor for the Forestry Commission.

I am currently doing the FdSc Arboriculture degree by distance learning through Myerscough College in Preston and my latest assignment is to write a management plan for a 23 ha ancient semi natural woodland of mainly hazel coppice with oak standards. That is the main reason I have joined the SWOG to see if I can gain any knowledge from other members and to use the networking available. Hopefully it wont be all take, take, take so feel free to contact me if I can be of any use to anyone.

Regards,

Alan
Dorset Treeman

Re: Hello from Dorchester, Dorset

Postby Dorset Treeman » Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:36 pm

Hi,

No the woodland is real as is the 5 year management plan. I have only visited the woodland for the first time on Friday with a follow up visit yesterday. It is ancient semi natural woodland and also a Site of Nature Conservation Interest (SNCI) due to the protected species of bats and dormice and a rich flora, so it will need to manage with this in mind. The hazel has some areas overstood stools which haven't been cut in 40 or so years and will be brought back into a coppice rotation in the first 2 years with the wood going as firewood and then all of the hazel will be managed on rotations of 6-8 years for spars, hurdles etc.