Small Woodland Owners' Group

Looking for woodland to rent coppice near maldon essex

Offers and requests for sharing/renting or using woodland for activities or help in the wood

Looking for woodland to rent coppice near maldon essex

Postby woodpecker975 » Thu Oct 29, 2015 8:18 am

Hi I am looking for a woodland to coppice. I sell logs and looking for a supply of wood. I am near maldon Essex . I am fairly new to this and any advice from anyone would be greatly received.
woodpecker975

Re: Looking for woodland to rent coppice near maldon essex

Postby oldclaypaws » Thu Oct 29, 2015 3:00 pm

I'm not sure that people necessarily pay to coppice other peoples woods. As its beneficial for the wood, I'd have thought if you could find a neglected one in the area (and they do exist, according to FC statistics), an owner should be happy for you to coppice it for free, perhaps in return for a token payment of a cord of wood or two from you to them.

I believe our nearby council owned wood is used by local colleges to coppice, both to teach forestry skills and maintain the wood. No money changes hands. A previous guy coppiced it paying a peppercorn rent of maybe £5 a year.

A friend of mine rents a 5 acre wood where he does archaeological experimental re-enactment activities and various themed open days. Again, no money changes hands, he 'pays' for its use by cutting firewood for the owner. All very civilised.
oldclaypaws

Postby oldclaypaws » Sun Nov 01, 2015 12:06 pm